About The University

The Sambalpur University Act was passed by the Odisha Legislature on 10th December, 1966 to fulfill long cherished dream of the people of Western Odisha for establishment of a University. The University started functioning from 1st January, 1967 with Prof.Parsuram Mishra as the first Vice-Chancellor. The University was inaugurated on 4th January, 1967 by Hon'ble Chancellor A.N.Khosla. The University started functioning in 1967 in a rented private building at Dhanupali, Sambalpur and in Government building at Ainthapali, Sambalpur from 1968 - 72. In the year 1973 the University was shifted to the present campus named Jyoti Vihar at Burla.

The territorial jurisdiction of the University covers 6 districts of the state of Odisha namely Sambalpur, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Deogarh, Bargarh, Boudh and Athamallik Sub-Division of Angul District.

About University

The University at Jyoti Vihar provides Post-Graduate education in Twenty-seven subjects through Twenty Post-Graduate Departments.

The University Post-Graduate Departments offer one-year study Programme for M.Phil Degree, two years study programme for the Degrees of M.A. / M.Sc. / LL.M. / Business Administration / M.Lib & Inf.Science, One-Year P.G. Diploma Course in Computer Science & Application and Diploma Course in Sambalpuri Studies and Three-Year course in M.C.A. and Executive M.B.A.

The P.G.Departments of Chemistry, Life Sciences, History, Economics, Library & Information Sciences and Mathematics have been conferred Autonomous Status by the University. They adopt Semester system based on continuous evaluation. They adopt their own courses of studies.

There are Ten Post-Graduate Hostels in the University Campus out of which four are Ladies Hostels and six are Gents' Hostels. The University provide several facilities to the boarders in the Hostels like Common Room with T.V., Reading Room with Newspaper and Magazine, Guest Room, First Aid, STD Telephone booth, etc. The Central Canteen has been opened near the Hostel Campus for the benefit of students. Besides there are two Nationalized Banks, one Post-Office, one Health Centre, one Auditorium, one Police-Out Post, one Faculty House and one Community Centre have been established in the University Campus for providing services to students/teachers and employees in the Campus.

The establishment of Directorate of Distance Education (DEC), Private Education Cell (PEC), One Nodal Computer Centre, Academic Staff College, University Yoga Centre, Professor Bhubaneswar Behera Central Library are acting like the wheels for the University system and would carry the University speedily towards achieving the noble boon for which these are set up.

The Directorate of Distance and Continuing Education has started in the year 1998 with only on-campus courses in collaboration with P.G. Departments of Sambalpur University.

In the year 2000 the Directorate of Distance and Continuing Education has launched BCA, PGDCA and PGDIT courses.

In the year 2003 the Directorate of Distance and Continuing Education has started floating MCA (Direct and Lateral), DCA Course and

In the year 2006 the D.D.C.E. has started floating MBA (Off Campus) full time courses.



Awards recognize and celebrate Sambalpur University students, faculty, staff, alumni, friends and community members who stand out for their excellence to the university



Present status of all MoUs signed between Sambalpur University and other Institutions/Universitites/Organizations in the past and present


Members of Syndicate

The Syndicate is responsible for regulating and directing the academic work of the University in teaching, research and the academic aspects of enterprise.


Raghubar Das

Governor of Odisha, Raj Bhawan,
Bhubaneswar, Odisha.
Vice Chancellor

Prof. Bidhu Bhusan Mishra

Sambalpur University,
Tel. 91-663-2430158 (O)
Chairman, PG Coucil

Prof.(Dr.) Tushar Kanti Das

Sambalpur University,
Ph. 0663-2430776
E-mail: pgco@suniv.ac.in

Dr. Nruparaj Sahu(OAS)

Sambalpur University,
Tel. 91-0663-2430157 (O)
E-mail: registrar@suniv.ac.in
Members of Syndicate
  1. Prof. Bidhu Bhusan Mishra, Vice Chancellor
  2. Shri Birendra Korkora, Additional Secretary , HE, Govt.of Odisha
  3. Smt. Prativa Sahoo, OAS (S), Joint Secretary to Govt., Higher Education Department
  4. Dr. Pravabati Guru, Regional Director of Education, Sambalpur
  5. Prof.(Dr.) Tushar Kanti Das, Chairman, P.G. Council, Sambalpur University
  6. Prof. Biswajit Satpathy, Director, CDC, Sambalpur University
  7. Prof. Pradipta Ku Behera, Director, Student Welfare
  8. Prof. Bulu Maharana, Director, HRDC
  9. Dr. Sabita Tripathy, PG Deptt.of English,Sambalpur University
  10. Dr. TusharKanti Das, Deptt.of Business Admn.,Sambalpur University
  11. Dr. P.K.Naik, Deptt of BT & BI,Sambalpur University
  12. Dr. SoudaminiPandey, Principal, Barpali College, Barpali
  13. Md. SabirHussain, Chancellor’s Nominee, Eminent Sports Person
  14. Prof. SwapnaMohapatra, Chancellor’sNominee, Eminent Academician, Professor of Physics, Utkal University
  15. Dr. Bharat, Chancellor’sNominee, Eminent Academician, Deptt.of Law,Institute of Legal Studies Punjab Univ
  16. Sri Ashok Kumar Rath, Administrative Officer
  17. Sri Pramod Kumar Bhoi, Principal, Larambha (Degree) College,Larambha,Bargarh
  18. Prof. Bijaya Kumar Behera, Principal, Govt. (Auto) College,Rourkela
  19. Sri Patitapaban Sahu, Principal, PanchayatCollege,Bargarh
  20. Prof. Ekambar Kariali, From Academic Council
  21. Prof. Arun Kumar Acharya, From Academic Council
  22. DrBijay Kumar Maharana, Principal Model Degree College, Deogarh

List of Vice-Chancellors Since 1967

  • Prof. Parsuram Mishra
  • Prof. R.K. Kapur
  • Prof. Kishore Chandra Pattnaik
  • Prof. Bhubaneswar Behera
  • Prof. Debendra Chandra Mishra
  • Prof. Nabin Kumar Sahu
  • Prof. Prafulla Kumar Pati
  • Prof. Udaya Chand Agrawal
  • Prof. L.K.Mohapatra
  • Prof. Niranjan Panda
  • Prof(Mrs) Priyambada Mohanty Hejmadi
  • Prof. Dhrubaraj Naik
  • Prof. Madhab Chandra Dash
  • Prof. Pradeep Chandra Tripathy
  • Prof. Udaya Chand Biswal
  • Prof. Arun Kumar Pujari
  • Prof. Bishnu Charan Barik
  • Prof. Chitaranjan Tripathy
  • Prof. Deepak Kumar Behera
  • Prof. Sanjiv Mittal
  • Prof. Bidhu Bhusan Mishra